Northwest Model United Nations believes that participation in Model United Nations is rewarding because of the skills and knowledge acquired through participation, and the personal growth and leadership development that occurs both during conferences and in preparations for conferences. No participant needs external recognition to achieve these gains. NWMUN does offer awards for delegates that help advance their country's policy farthest, and for delegations with consistently strong delegates across committees and countries assigned to them. However, we believe that awards should be viewed with appropriate perspective, understanding that they are of limited value in recognizing achievement or excellence, both for those who may be given awards and those who may not.

If there is any incorrect or incomplete information on this page, please let us know by emailing sg.portland [at] Thanks!

Delegation (Overall) Awards
Outstanding Delegation:  University of Texas at Dallas (Head Delegate: Bhargavesh Gottam; Adviser: Valerie Brunell)
Distinguished Delegation: University of British Columbia (Head Delegates: Suzanne Ross and Kaidie Williams)

General Assembly Plenary
Outstanding Delegate: United States
Distinguished Delegate: Botswana
Distinguished Delegate: France
Distinguished Delegate: South Africa
Distinguished Delegate: Turkey
Position Paper Award: Albania
Position Paper Award: Bolivia
Position Paper Award: Latvia

UN Environment Programme
Outstanding Delegate: Republic of Korea
Distinguished Delegate: Latvia
Distinguished Delegate: Rwanda
Distinguished Delegate: Thailand
Position Paper Award: Australia
Position Paper Award: Italy

Economic and Social Council
Outstanding Delegate: Ireland
Distinguished Delegate: Bangladesh
Distinguished Delegate: Myanmar
Distinguished Delegate: United States
Position Paper Award: Australia
Position Paper Award: Russian Federation

Security Council
Outstanding Delegate: Republic of Korea
Distinguished Delegate: Argentina
Position Paper Award: Jordan